How can we help?

How do I manage my shared collector?

Follow

Auvik allows you to share a collector with multiple sites, as long as the collector has connectivity to those sites and there is no IP addressing overlap between them. If the same subnet exists in more than one of those sites, you’ll need to either break them up to resolve the conflict, or deploy additional collectors to scan them separately.

A shared collector is always added to a multi-site. Although you can add a collector to the top level company and share it, we recommend using a multi-site to contain the sites you're planning to scan.

New collector download

  1. From the side navigation bar, click Shared Auvik Collectors.
  2. Hover over Add Shared Auvik Collector.
    1. To download a Windows service, click Download Windows Service.
    2. To download a new OVA file, click Download OVA.
    3. To run the installer using a bash script, click Run Installer (advanced).

Follow the instructions below for getting your new collector up and running.

How to approve a shared collector

Before you can select which sites the collector is to be shared with, you must approve the collector.

  1. From the side navigation bar, click Shared Auvik Collectors.
  2. In the list of collectors, find the collector(s) you want to accept. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  3. Click the Approve button.
  4. Confirm the state change by clicking Approve.

How to share a collector with sites

If you want, you can filter your list of collectors to show only certain collectors. For more information on filtering, see How to filter data in Auvik.

  1. From the side navigation bar, click Shared Auvik Collectors.
  2. In the list of collectors, find the collector you want to share. Check the box at the beginning of its row.
  3. Click the Edit button.
  4. Select which sites the collector is to be shared with.
  5. Click Save.
  6. Go to the dashboard for each site you’ve shared with and approve the collector.
  7. Decide which networks should be scanned for each site.

If you shared the collector with a newly-created site, the collector is approved automatically. But once connected, no subnets are automatically discovered. To start scanning the appropriate subnet for the site, add the subnet(s) you want scanned.

How to unshare a collector with sites

  1. From the side navigation bar, click Shared Auvik Collectors.
  2. In the list of collectors, find the collector you want to unshare. Check the box at the beginning of its row.
  3. Click the Edit button.
  4. Unselect the sites the collector should no longer be shared with.
  5. Click Save.

An unshared collector shows as Disconnected when you look at the collector dashboard on the site.

How to reject a shared collector

If you reject a collector, don’t forget to power it down.

  1. From the side navigation bar, click Shared Auvik Collectors.
  2. In the list of collectors, find the collector(s) you want to reject. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  3. Click the Reject button.
  4. Confirm the state change by clicking Reject.

How to delete a shared collector

Deleting a shared collector only deletes it from your top-level dashboard. To delete the collector for a site, do it from the site in question.

We recommend only deleting collectors that are currently disconnected and will never be reconnected. Deleting a connected collector results in it automatically reappearing, and if you wish to continue using it, you’ll need to re-share the collector with each site.

  1. From the side navigation bar, click Shared Auvik Collectors.
  2. In the displayed list of shared collectors, find the collector(s) you want to delete. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  3. Click the Delete button.
  4. Confirm the cancellation by clicking Delete.

 

Was this article helpful?
3 out of 3 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request