How can we help?

How do I edit or delete existing users?

Follow

User management is easy with Auvik. As an administrator of your Auvik account, you can invite (add) users, edit, or delete them entirely. You can also filter your user list to show only certain users. For more information on filtering, see How to filter data in Auvik.

How to edit a user from a multi-site dashboard

  1. From the multi-site dashboard, click Manage Users in the side navigation bar.
  2. In the displayed list of users, find the one you want to edit. Check the box at the beginning of its row.
  3. Click the Edit button.
  4. Make any edits you want. The fields you can edit include first name, last name, phone number*, session timeout, and if the user must use your identity provider to log in (single sign-on)**. The email address can’t be edited.
  5. Click Save.

* Phone numbers can be a maximum of 16 characters consisting of numbers separated by a space, period, or hyphen. If you’d like to include an extension, enter it as x5678. Use only x (not ext) to designate that it’s an extension and don’t put any spaces between x and the extension number.

** You can only edit whether a user has to use SAML authentication if the user is authenticated at this site (or at a child of this site) and the authentication method is set to SSO for select users at this authentication level.

How to edit a user from a site dashboard

  1. From the site dashboard, click Manage Users in the side navigation bar.
  2. In the displayed list of users, find the one you want to edit. Check the box at the beginning of its row.
  3. Click the Edit button.
  4. Make any edits you want. The fields you can edit include first name, last name, phone number, session timeout, clients the user is authorized to access, their role per client, and if the user must use your identity provider to log in (single sign-on)**. The email address can’t be edited.
  5. Click Save.

** You can only edit whether a user has to use SAML authentication if the user is authenticated at this site (or at a child of this site) and the authentication method is set to SSO for select users at this authentication level.

How to authorize a user from a multi-site dashboard

From your multi-site dashboard, you can edit all users who have access to any of your sites. Specifically, you can indicate which sites the user should have access to and what access level they should have for each one.

You can’t change your access level for the current account you’re logged into.

  1. From the multi-site dashboard, click Manage Users in the side navigation bar.
  2. In the displayed list of users, find the ones you want to edit. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  3. Click the Authorize button.
  4. Edit user site authorizations: 
    • To apply the same role to each site: From the list of sites, check each site for which the user should have the same role level. From the Roles drop-down menu, select the appropriate role.
    • To assign different roles per site: From the list of sites, check a site and from the Roles drop-down menu, select the appropriate role. Repeat for each site where the roles assigned should be different.
  5. If a user is authorized to access a site that is a higher level than the site they’re currently authorized on, their authentication level will be changed to permit the new authorization. If the authentication method is set to SSO for all users, please make sure the user is also listed in your identity provider and is configured to have access to Auvik.

ZendeskKB_142.png

  1. Click Save.

How to reset 2FA (two-factor authentication) tokens

If your employees are using single sign-on with your identity provider, Microsoft work accounts, or Google Workspace accounts to log in, you need to reset the two-factor access (2FA) tokens in those systems respectively. The two-factor token resets apply only to your Auvik 2FA.

Important: If you’ve lost your Auvik 2FA access because you no longer have the phone to which it was connected, and you’re no longer able to log into Auvik, you’ll need to ask an administrator on your Auvik account to reset your 2FA token. If you’re currently logged into Auvik and need to reset your 2FA token, you can follow the steps in Reset your two-factor authentication to reset it yourself.

If you are the administrator:

  1. Click Manage Users in the side navigation bar.
  2. In the displayed list of users, find the user(s) for whom you want to reset the Auvik two-factor token. Check the box at the beginning of that person’s row.
  3. Click Reset 2FA.

Once these steps have been completed, the user will receive an email indicating that their 2FA has been reset.

A reset requires the user to re-scan their QR code the next time they log in.

How to enforce single sign-on (SSO) use

You can only edit whether a user has to use SAML authentication if the user is authenticated at this site (or at a child of this site) and the authentication method is set to SSO for select users at this authentication level.

To enforce SSO for a user:

  1. From the site dashboard, click Manage Users in the side navigation bar.
  2. In the displayed list of users, find the one you want to edit. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  3. Click the Edit button.
  4. Check the Enforce single sign-on checkbox.
  5. Click Save.

How to change the authentication level for a user from a multi-site dashboard

The authentication level determines which site a user belongs to and controls which authentication method they can use. This enables support for different authentication methods and different SSO configurations for each site.

  1. From the multi-site dashboard, click Manage Users in the side navigation bar.
  2. In the displayed list of users, find the one you want to edit. Check the box at the beginning of the desired row.
  3. Click the Authorize button.
  4. Change the authentication level dropdown to the desired authentication level.

The authentication level for a user can only be changed if it is at the current site or a child of this site.

How to delete users

Deleting a user from your multi-site dashboard removes that person from your account and all sites. If you want to revoke access to a specific site only, edit the user’s details instead to remove their access to that particular site. If you later decide to re-add a deleted user, you’ll need to send them a new invitation.

Note: You can’t delete yourself.

  1. Click Manage Users in the side navigation bar.
  2. In the displayed list of users, find the user(s) you want to delete. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  3. Click the Delete button.
  4. Confirm the cancellation by clicking Delete.
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 3 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request