How can we help?

How do I add, edit or delete user roles?

Follow

User role management is easy with Auvik. In addition to user and invitation management, you can manage the roles you assign to your users. If you want, you can filter your role list to show only certain roles. For more information on filtering, see How to filter data in Auvik.

Roles are managed from your top-level MSP (multi-client) dashboard. Permissions for a given role are broken down into areas and screens within Auvik. 

Area

Screen

Navigation/button visibility

Admin

  • Client management
  • Billing
  • User management
  • Role management
  • Collectors
  • Company settings
  • Integrations
  • TrafficInsights
  • All Clients
  • Settings > Billing
  • Manage Users
  • Manage Users > Roles
  • Shared Auvik Collectors / Auvik Collectors
  • Settings > Company
  • Integrations
  • TrafficInsights > Summary / TrafficInsights > Set Up

Device details and access

  • Services
  • Remote terminal
  • Remote browser
  • Debug details
  • AuvikFlow (Kentik), if enabled
  • Data export
  • Remote tunnel
  • Inventory > All Services
  • Device Dashboard > Remote Management
  • Device Dashboard > Remote Management
  • Debug
  • AuvikFlow (Kentik)
  • Export
  • Device Dashboard > Remote Management

Documentation

  • Notes
  • Reports
  • Configurations
  • Quick filters
  • Audit logs
  • Warranty status
  • Recommended version
  • Documentation > Notes
  • Documentation > Reports
  • Documentation > Configurations
  • Map > Filters
  • Audit
  • Documentation > Warranty status
  • Documentation > Recommended version

Discovery

  • Manage devices
  • Manage networks
  • Manage credentials
  • Discovery settings
  • Manage cloud controllers
  • Discovery > Manage Devices
  • Discovery > Manage Networks
  • Discovery > Manage Credentials
  • Discovery > Discovery Settings
  • Discovery > Manage Cloud Controllers

Alerts

  • Manage alerts
  • Notification channels
  • Maintenance windows
  • Triggered alerts 
  • Manage Alerts
  • Manage Alerts > Notification Channels
  • Manage Alerts > Maintenance Windows
  • All Alerts

Inventory API

  • Device info
  • Device details
  • Device details extended
  • Network info
  • Network details
  • Interface info
  • Components
  • Audit history
  • Configuration history
  • Entity notes
  • Tenants
  • Device warranty
  • Device info API endpoint
  • Device details API endpoint
  • Device details extended API endpoint
  • Network info API endpoint
  • Network details API endpoint
  • Interface info API endpoint
  • Components API endpoint
  • Audit history API endpoint
  • Configuration history API endpoint
  • Entity notes API endpoint
  • Tenants API endpoint
  • Device warranty endpoint
Alert API
  • Alert history
  • Alert history API endpoint

ZendeskKB_156.png

How to add user roles

Roles added from your MSP dashboard are available to all your clients. The steps below are specific to adding a role that includes dashboard access. To create an API Access Only role, see How do I add API access only roles?

If you’re creating a new role for users responsible for billing only and they need to see which clients are assigned to which type, the role must include these two permissions at a minimum:

  1. The appropriate billing permission level (view or edit)
  2. Client management (view)

If the user has been granted edit permissions for billing, they’ll also have the ability to manage client types.

ZendeskKB_157.png

  1. Click Manage Users in the side navigation bar. Click Roles.
  2. Click Add Role.
  3. Enter a name for the role.
  4. Click the arrow to expand a section.
  5. Click the appropriate circle to adjust the permission levels. To adjust all permission levels, click the pointer (ZendeskKB_158.png) to increase the levels.
  6. Repeat steps 4 and 5 for each section of permissions to be set.
  7. Click Save.

How to add API access only roles

The below steps are specific to adding a role that only has API access, and no dashboard access, to create a role that includes dashboard access, refer to How to add user roles.

ZendeskKB_178.png

  1. Click Manage Users in the side navigation bar. Click Roles.
  2. Click Add Role.
  3. Enter a name for the role.
  4. Check API Role Only
  5. Click the arrow to expand a section.
  6. Click the appropriate circle to adjust the permission levels. To adjust all permission levels, click the pointer (ZendeskKB_158.png) to increase the levels.
  7. Repeat steps 5 and 6 for each section of permissions to be set.
  8. Click Save.

How to clone roles

ZendeskKB_160.png

  1. Click Manage Users in the side navigation bar. Click Roles.
  2. In the displayed list of roles, find the role you want to edit. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  3. Click the Clone button.
  4. Update the name of the cloned role.
  5. Click the arrow to expand a section and make any edits you want. To adjust all permission levels, click the left pointer (ZendeskKB_159.png) to decrease the levels or the right pointer (ZendeskKB_158.png) to increase the levels.
  6. Repeat step 5 for each section where edits are to be applied.
  7. Click Save.

How to edit roles

  1. Click Manage Users in the side navigation bar. Click Roles.
  2. In the displayed list of roles, find the role you want to edit. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  3. Click the Edit button.
  4. Click the arrow to expand a section and make any edits you want. To adjust all permission levels, click the left pointer (ZendeskKB_159.png) to decrease the levels or the right-pointer (ZendeskKB_158.png) to increase the levels.
  5. Repeat step 4 for each section where edits are to be applied.
  6. Click Save. 

How to reset roles

Only roles pre-configured by Auvik can be reset. You can’t reset roles that were created from your MSP dashboard.

To know which roles have been updated, look at the asterisk for each role in the table. A white asterisk (ZendeskKB_88.png) indicates no updates have been made. A grey asterisk (ZendeskKB_89.png) indicates an update has been made. 

  1. Click Manage Users in the side navigation bar. Click Roles.
  2. In the displayed list of roles, find the role you want to edit. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  3. Click the Reset button.
  4. Confirm the reset by clicking Reset.

How to delete roles

Roles that are currently assigned to users can’t be deleted. To delete a role, you must first unauthorize all users from the role.

  1. Click Manage Users in the side navigation bar. Click Roles.
  2. In the displayed list of roles, find the role you want to edit. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  3. Click the Delete button.
  4. Confirm the cancellation by clicking Delete.

How to restore deleted roles

If you’ve deleted a role that was pre-configured by Auvik, you can restore it rather than recreating it from scratch. You can’t restore roles that were created from your MSP dashboard.

ZendeskKB_161.png

  1. Click Manage Users in the side navigation bar. Click Roles.
  2. Hover over the gear (ZendeskKB_90a.png) icon above the Add Role button. Click Restore pre-configured roles.
  3. In the list of deleted roles, find the one(s) you want to restore. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  4. Click Restore.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk