How can we help?

How do I manage client accounts?

Follow

Your MSP dashboard shows you a list of all the clients you’re managing with Auvik. From this central starting point, you can click through to any existing client network, add new clients, or delete old ones.

To complete any of these actions, you need to be logged into your own Auvik instance (example: msp.my.auvik.com).

You can filter your client list to show only certain clients. For more information on filtering, see How to filter data in Auvik.

How to add a new client

There are two types of clients you can add:

  • Client is a company whose network you manage.
  • Multi-client is a company, such as an MSP, that manages multiple company networks. You should only select multi-client if your customers are managed service providers.

When you add the new client, select the appropriate client type. If you select the wrong type, you’ll need to delete the client and start over. Or you can contact Auvik support to have us make the change.

  1. Click Add client.
  2. Select the type of client you want to add: Client or Multi-Client.
  3. Enter a company name, a domain prefix, and your client's street address*.
  4. Click Next.
  5. New client user authorizations. For more information on filtering, see How to filter data in Auvik.
    1. To apply the same role to each user: From the list of users, select who should be authorized on the new client account. From the Roles drop-down menu, select the appropriate role: no access, admin, or read-only.
    2. To assign different roles per user: From the list of users, select each user individually. Then, from the Roles drop-down menu, select the appropriate role.

ZendeskKB_140.png

  1. Click Save.

* Your client's street address will only be used to place their location on a map.

For new clients, decide if you’ll be sharing an existing collector OR installing a new a collector on the client’s network.

How to authorize client users

After you add a new client, you can easily authorize existing users on the new client. Right now, authorizations can only be made for a single client at a time.

  1. In the displayed list of clients, find the client you want to authorize users on. Click the box at the beginning of the row.
  2. Click the Authorize button.
  3. Client user authorizations. For more information on filtering, see How to filter data in Auvik.
    1. To apply the same role to each user: From the list of users, check each user who should be authorized on the new client account. From the Roles drop-down menu, select the appropriate role: no access, admin, or read-only.
    2. To assign different roles per user: From the list of users, check a user and from the Roles drop-down menu, select the appropriate role. Repeat for each user where the roles assigned should be different.
    3. If you selected to authorize users on a multi-client, leaving Authorize on all clients accounts under this multi-client account checked applies the same role level to all clients of the multi-client. To assign different permissions per client, uncheck Authorize on all clients accounts under this multi-client account.

ZendeskKB_141.png

  1. Click Save.

How to disable clients

  1. In the displayed list of clients, find the client(s) you want to disable. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  2. Click the Disable button.
  3. Confirm your action by clicking Disable.

Disabling a client will prevent anyone from logging into their dashboard. It’s recommended that you power down the Auvik collector for the client who has just been disabled.

How to enable clients

  1. In the displayed list of clients, find the client(s) you want to enable. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  2. Click the Enable button.
  3. Confirm your action by clicking Enable.

Enabling a client will restart them. Give Auvik a couple of minutes to fully process the request before you try accessing the newly enabled client. If you previously powered down the Auvik collector for that client, don’t forget to power it back on.

How to delete clients

Deleting a client should only be done if absolutely necessary. Once a client has been deleted, the domain prefix for that client is added back to the pool of domain prefixes available for use by new Auvik accounts.

  1. In the displayed list of clients, find the client(s) you want to delete. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  2. Click the Delete button.
  3. Type delete, then click the Delete button to confirm the deletion.

How to access a client’s network

There are three ways you can access a client’s network.

  1. In the displayed list of clients, find the client you want to access. Click anywhere in the row for that client. You’ll be taken to their network map and home dashboard.
  2. In the side navigation bar, click the drop-box below your company logo and select the client’s name.
  3. From the client map, hover over any pin to see the client's name. Click on the pin to access the client's network.

How to return to the MSP dashboard from a client's network

From the side navigation bar, click the drop-box below your company logo. Select your company name from the list.

Additional resources

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk