How can we help?

How do I add, edit, delete, or retry SNMP credentials?

Follow

Auvik requires read-only access to SNMP-enabled devices. SNMP v1, v2c, and v3 credentials are supported. For more information about credentials and their use, see How are my credentials used?

Each time Auvik discovers a new SNMP-enabled device on your network we’ll prompt you for SNMP credentials. But you can manage your SNMP credentials at any time — you don’t need to wait for the prompts.

You can filter the credentials list to show only certain credentials. For more information on filtering, see How to filter data in Auvik.

How to add SNMP credentials

Adding a new SNMP credential from your MSP dashboard adds the credential to all your clients. To add an SNMP credential to a specific client only, add the credential from that client’s dashboard.

When adding credentials, we recommend you enter a description that will help you remember which credential is for which devices. The description will be valuable if you ever need to correctly identify a credential for deletion, especially for SNMP v3 credentials where the username is the same as another v3 credential.

For SNMP v3 credentials: To confirm the correct passphrase was entered before saving, click the eye () in the passphrase field to show the passphrase. To hide the passphrase, click the eye () again.

  1. Click Discovery in the side navigation bar.
  2. Click the Manage Credentials tab.
  3. Click SNMP Credentials.
  4. Click Add SNMP Credentials.
  5. Fill in the Add SNMP Credential form. When adding an entity for the credential, you can filter devices. See How to filter data in Auvik for more detail.
  6. Select the SNMP credential version.
    1. For v1/2c, enter the community string
    2. For v3, enter the username, select the auth protocol, and enter the auth passphrase. Then select the privacy protocol and enter the privacy passphrase.
  7. Select Save SNMP Credentials.

How to edit SNMP credentials

  1. Click Discovery in the side navigation bar.
  2. Click the Manage Credentials tab.
  3. Click the SNMP Credentials tab.
  4. In the displayed list of SNMP credentials, find the credential you want to edit. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  5. Click the Edit button.
  6. Make any edits you want.
  7. Click Save.

How to reset SNMP credentials

Only SNMP credentials pre-configured by Auvik or created from the MSP dashboard can be reset. You can’t reset SNMP credentials that were created directly on a client account.

To know which SNMP credentials have been updated, look at the asterisk for each credential in the table. A white asterisk () indicates no updates have been made. A grey asterisk () indicates an update has been made.

  1. Click Discovery in the side navigation bar.
  2. Click the Manage Credentials tab.
  3. Click SNMP Credentials.
  4. In the list of credentials, find the one(s) you want to reset. (The asterisk must be grey.) Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  5. Click the Reset button.
  6. Confirm the reset by clicking Reset.

How to retry SNMP credentials

Have a feeling the credentials you entered aren’t being picked up correctly?

The long way to retry the credentials is to delete them, then add them back. Or you could edit the credential details to ensure they’re correct. The fast and easy way is to click the Retry button!
Note: Retry credentials is only available from the client dashboard.

  1. Click Discovery in the side navigation bar.
  2. Click the Manage Credentials tab.
  3. Click the SNMP Credentials tab.
  4. Click Retry SNMP Credentials.

How to delete SNMP credentials

  1. Click Discovery in the side navigation bar.
  2. Click the Manage Credentials tab.
  3. Click the SNMP Credentials tab.
  4. In the displayed list of SNMP credentials, find the credential(s) you want to delete. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  5. Click the Delete button.
  6. Confirm the cancellation by clicking Delete.

How to restore deleted SNMP credentials

If you’ve deleted an SNMP credential that was either pre-configured by Auvik or created from the MSP dashboard, you can restore it rather than recreating it from scratch. You can’t restore SNMP credentials that were created directly on a client account.



  1. Click Discovery in the side navigation bar.
  2. Click the Manage Credentials tab.
  3. Click SNMP Credentials.
  4. Hover over the gear () icon above the Add SNMP Credential button. Click Restore SNMP credentials.
  5. In the list of deleted SNMP credentials, find the one(s) you want to restore. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  6. Click Restore.

KPIs (key performance indicators)

On each KPI, you can use filters to show only certain details. For more information on filtering, see How to filter data in Auvik.

Note: KPIs are only available on the client dashboard.

  • Have Credentials indicates how many devices have authenticated SNMP credentials. To see all devices with authenticated SNMP credentials, click the KPI.
  • Need Credentials indicates how many devices still need SNMP credentials. To see all devices that need SNMP credentials, click the KPI.
  • Trying Credentials indicates how many devices have SNMP credentials that are currently being tried. To see all devices on which SNMP credentials are currently being tried, click the KPI.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk