How can we help?

How to configure a global archive for all my sites

Follow

This article describes the configuration of a single archive to store the data of all the sites. This is usually the desired configuration when there are no privacy concerns between the different sites. In this configuration of the archive, a unique external storage is created in order to store the logs from the devices of the sites.  

The first step of the configuration is the connection of Auvik to your external storage at the global level. You can find a detailed description in this article: How to connect syslog archive with AWS S3.

Once you have connected Auvik to your storage provider, you need to configure the logs that you want to archive. When defined at the global level you are able to define what sites you want to enable for the archive.

First, you can define the default configuration of the archive by using the switch button Archive sites by default. If enabled, new sites and current sites using the default configuration will store all their logs from all their devices. If disabled, new sites and current sites using the default configuration will not store any log from their devices.

image10.png

At the global level you can only define whether you want to archive all or none of the logs for a site. If you want to define which specific devices from a site  you want to archive, you will have to go to Manage Archive at the site level. By modifying that, the configuration of that site will become custom. 

How to enable/disable a site for the archive

By enabling/disabling a site you will start/stop archiving the logs of that site. In addition, the configuration of that site will become custom. As a result, changes on the default configuration will have no impact on the configuration of the site.

  1. Click the checkboxes of the sites you want to enable/disable
  2. Click the Enable/Disable button
  3. Confirm the enabling/disabling by clicking Accept

How to reset the configuration of a site for the archive

By resetting a site you will inherit again the default configuration defined by the Archive sites by default selection. If that switch button is enabled you will start storing the logs of the site, or will not otherwise. In addition, the configuration of that site will become not custom and will inherit any change on the default configuration.

  1. Click the checkboxes of the sites you want to enable/disable
  2. Click the Enable/Disable button

Confirm the enabling/disabling by clicking Accept.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Auvik System Status

Check system status