How can we help?

How do I add, edit, or delete alerts?

Follow

Auvik comes with a set of pre-defined alerts, most of which you can edit or delete. You can also create your own custom alerts.

You can filter the alerts list to show only certain alerts. For more information on filtering, see How to filter data in Auvik.

Alerts edited from the client’s dashboard are not overwritten by any alert edits you make from your MSP dashboard.

How to add alerts

There are two types of alerts you can add in Auvik:

  1. Alerts specific to your network, a particular device or device type, or a particular interface, and
  2. Alerts specific to a service.

Both types of alerts are added in the same way. You can apply alerts to all entities or services on your network, or just to a specific set of entities or services.

Adding a new alert from your MSP dashboard adds the alert to all your clients. To add an alert to a specific client, add the alert from that client’s dashboard.

  1. Click Manage Alerts in the side navigation bar
  2. Hover over the Add Alert button and select the type of alert you’re adding: Network/Device/Interface, or Service.
  3. Fill in the Add Alert form. You must include an alert name, description, severity, trigger condition, and clear condition. The other fields can be changed or left at the default settings, depending on what you want.
  4. To receive notification of the alert, select one or more existing notification channels.
  5. Optional: Use the Comment field to share knowledge with co-workers or to leave yourself tips and reminders. Example: This issue often happens because of x. Try y to fix it.
  6. Click Save.

How to edit alerts

Any of Auvik’s pre-defined alerts can be edited. But there are some for which you can’t edit the trigger and clear conditions. That’s to prevent the creation of logic errors or endless loops that can cause the alerts to misfire.

Editing an alert from your MSP dashboard edits the alert for all your clients. To edit an alert for a specific client, make the edits from that client’s dashboard.

  1. Click Manage Alerts in the side navigation bar
  2. In the displayed list of alerts, find the one you want to edit. Check the box at the beginning of its row.
  3. Click the Edit button.
  4. Make any edits you want. (Auvik intelligently displays supported operators and values for all the fields you’re able to customize.)
  5. Click Save.

How to reset alerts

Only alerts pre-configured by Auvik or created from the MSP dashboard can be reset. You can’t reset alerts that were created directly on a client account.

To know which alerts have been updated, look at the asterisk for each alert in the table. A white asterisk () indicates no updates have been made. A grey asterisk () indicates an update has been made. Resetting an alert doesn’t reset the associated notification channel(s). To update the notification channel(s), you must edit the alert or update the associations.

  1. Click Manage Alerts in the side navigation bar.
  2. In the list of alerts, find the one(s) you want to reset. (The asterisk must be grey.). Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  3. Click the Reset button.
  4. Confirm the reset by clicking Reset.

How to delete alerts

Deleting an alert from your MSP dashboard deletes the alert for all your clients. To delete an alert for a specific client, delete the alert from that client’s dashboard.

  1. Click Manage Alerts in the side navigation bar
  2. In the displayed list of alerts, find the alert(s) you want to delete. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  3. Click the Delete button.
  4. Confirm the cancellation by clicking Delete.

How to restore deleted alerts

If you’ve deleted an alert that was pre-configured by Auvik or created from the MSP dashboard, you can restore it rather than recreating it from scratch. Note that only pre-configured Auvik alerts or alerts shared between the MSP and the client can be restored. You can’t restore an alert that was created on a specific client.

  1. Click Manage Alerts in the side navigation bar.
  2. Hover over the gear () icon above the Add Alerts button. Click Restore alerts.
  3. In the list of deleted alerts, find the one(s) you want to restore. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  4. Click Restore

How to disable alerts

When you disable alerts, the alert remains in the system but is no longer triggered. If you want the alert to trigger, but don’t want to receive notifications, see How do I add, edit, or delete notification channels?

Disabling an alert from your MSP dashboard disables the alert for all your clients. To disable an alert for a specific client, disable the alert from that client’s dashboard.

  1. Click Manage Alerts in the side navigation bar.
  2. In the displayed list of alerts, find the alert(s) you want to disable. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  3. Click the Disable button.
  4. Confirm the cancellation by clicking Disable.

How to enable alerts

Enabling an alert from your MSP dashboard enables the alert for all your clients. To enable an alert for a specific client, enable the alert from that client’s dashboard.

  1. Click Manage Alerts in the side navigation bar.
  2. In the displayed list of alerts, find the alert(s) you want to enable. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  3. Click the Enable button.
  4. Confirm the cancellation by clicking Enable.

How to turn off notifications

You can choose not to receive notifications for alerts. When you turn notifications off, the alerts still get logged on the Alerts tab for auditing purposes but you won’t receive any emails or banner pop-ups about them. (If you want to disable an alert altogether, see How to disable alerts?)

Turning off notifications for an alert from your MSP dashboard turns off the notification for all clients. To remove a notification for a specific client’s alert, remove the notification from that client’s dashboard.

  1. Click Manage Alerts in the side navigation bar.
  2. In the displayed list of alerts, find the one you want to edit. Click the pencil icon at the end of its row.
  3. Under Step 6: Select Notification Channel, select No notification.
  4. Click Save.

You can also turn off notifications for an alert from Notification Channels by un-associating the channel. If there are multiple notification channels associated to an alert, all channels must be unassociated for the alert to be set to No Notification.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk