How can we help?

How do I change which authentication methods my users can use?

Follow

A different set of authentication methods and single sign-on configurations are supported at each site site. The authentication method for a site applies to users who belong to the site. The authentication level determines which site a user belongs to and controls which authentication method they can use.

  • Edit authentication methods my users can use
  • See which authentication method is being used by a user
  • See which authentication level a user is assigned

Edit authentication methods my users can use

Select the authentication method you want users on this site to use:

  1. Go to the desired site dashboard.
  2. Click on Settings in the Auvik navigation menu.
  3. Click on the Authentication tab.
  4. Select the desired Authentication Method:
    • Password, Google account, and Microsoft account
    • Single sign-on for selected users
    • Single sign-on for all users
  5. Click Save.

These are the three supported authentication methods for a site:

  1. Password, Google account, or Microsoft account: All users can use any of these methods to log in.
  2. Single sign-on for selected users: If a user is set to use SSO, they must use SSO to log in. If a user is not set to SSO, they can use their password, Google account, or Microsoft account to log in.
  3. Single sign-on for all users: All users must use SSO to log in.

Users whose accounts have been migrated to SSO can only log in through your identity provider. Make sure all of the users you want to use SSO in Auvik are in your identity provider and are configured to have access to Auvik. Currently, Auvik SSO doesn’t support just-in-time provisioning. You must invite the user to Auvik.

If Single sign-on for selected users is selected, the user migration wizard lets you select the users you want to migrate to SSO. There are three options:

  1. All users that belong to this site
  2. All users that belong to an email domain
  3. Select individual users

After selecting users to migrate, you will be asked to confirm your selection and to start the migration. You can migrate more users to SSO at a later time by editing the user, or clicking the Migrate Users button in the Authentication Method pane. You can also specify that a user must use SSO when you invite them.

If Single sign-on for all users is selected, the user migration wizard will confirm the users that will be migrated to SSO and start the migration. Selecting this option prevents you from inviting new users that already have an Auvik account—for example, consultants— because they’ll be using a conflicting authentication method. In this scenario, select Single sign-on for selected users.

 

If your browser tab or window is closed while the migration is in progress, you can view the progress from the Authentication Method pane:

  1. Go to the desired site dashboard.
  2. Click on Settings in the Auvik navigation menu.
  3. Click on the Authentication tab.
  4. Under Authentication Method, click the See Status link. If the migration has already completed, you  won’t see the See Status link.

Switching the authentication method to Password, Google account, or Microsoft account from either Single sign-on for selected users or Single sign-on for all users will disable SSO for this site. SSO users who belong to this site will be sent a password reset email and will have to log in using their username and password. 

See authentication method used by a user

The authentication methods available to your users to log into Auvik are determined by the authentication method settings. To see which authentication method a given user is using:

  1. Click on Manage Users in the Auvik navigation menu.
  2. Search for the desired user.
  3. Look at the cell under the Authentication Method column.

A value of Inherited indicates that the user belongs to a multi-site that isn't a child of the current site.

See authentication level a user is assigned

The authentication level a user is assigned to is set when the user is invited to Auvik. It can be changed in the user authorization dialog. To see which authentication level a user is assigned to:

  1. Click on Manage Users in the Auvik navigation menu.
  2. Search for the desired user.
  3. Look at the cell under the Authentication Level column.

A value of Inherited indicates that the user belongs to a multi-site that isn't a child of the current site.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request