How can we help?

How do I start, edit, or end a maintenance window?

Follow

Auvik’s maintenance window feature is handy for managing unnecessary alerts during planned  work sessions when you know devices will be taken offline or changing status frequently.

During a maintenance window, any active alerts will continue to trigger but you’ll stop receiving notifications by email or to an integration.

How to add a maintenance window

Adding a new maintenance window from your MSP dashboard adds the window to all your clients. To add a maintenance window to a specific client, add the window from that client’s dashboard.

  1. Click Manage Alerts in the side navigation bar.
  2. Click Maintenance Window.
  3. Click Add Maintenance Window.
  4. Fill in the Add Maintenance Window form. You must include a window name. If the window is for a specific device or group of devices (e.g., firewalls), set the affected entities.
  5. From the Scheduled time(s) drop-down, select how often the window should be active. Set the start and end date and times for the window:
    • Once - one time only
    • Daily - same time Mon-Sun
    • Weekly - same day(s) and time each week
  6. If the timezone for the window differs from your company setting, select the appropriate timezone.
  7. Enter a comment about the maintenance window.
  8. Click Save.

Once the maintenance window is saved, Auvik shows you when the maintenance session is scheduled. If you finish maintenance before the defined period ends, you can always end the window manually.

How to edit a maintenance window

You can edit an active maintenance window to change the window’s timeframe or update your comments about the maintenance.

For example, maintenance windows that were configured as Once (one-time only) remain in the Configured Maintenance Windows table after they’re done. This allows you to use the same time as previously configured for a new one-time-only date.

  1. Click Manage Alerts in the side navigation bar
  2. Click Maintenance Window.
  3. Check the box at the beginning of the maintenance window’s row.
  4. Click the Edit button.
  5. Make the edits you want.
  6. Click Save.

How to reset maintenance windows

Only maintenance windows created from the MSP dashboard can be reset. You can’t reset maintenance windows that were created directly on a client account.

To know which windows have been updated, look at the asterisk for each window in the table. A white asterisk () indicates no updates have been made. A grey asterisk () indicates an update has been made.

  1. Click Manage Alerts in the side navigation bar.
  2. Click Maintenance Window.
  3. In the list of windows, find the one(s) you want to reset. (The asterisk must be grey). Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  4. Click the Reset button.

Confirm the reset by clicking Reset.

How to end a maintenance window

You can always end a maintenance window before the scheduled time is up. Ending a maintenance window automatically re-enables all Auvik alert notifications.

  1. Click Manage Alerts in the side navigation bar.
  2. Click Maintenance Window.
  3. Check the box at the beginning of the maintenance window’s row.
  4. Click the Conclude button.
  5. Confirm the window is to be ended by clicking Conclude.

How to delete a maintenance window

Be careful when deleting maintenance windows! If you select a window that was active at least once in the past, all history will be deleted along with it. We recommend only deleting maintenance windows that have never be implemented. This will ensure you don’t lose any history about past maintenance windows.

  1. Click Manage Alerts in the side navigation bar.
  2. Click Maintenance Window.
  3. Check the box at the beginning of the maintenance window’s row.
  4. Click the Delete button.
  5. Confirm the window is to be ended by clicking Delete.

How to restore deleted windows

If you’ve deleted a window that was created from the MSP dashboard, you can restore it rather than recreating it from scratch. Note that only windows shared between the MSP and the client can be restored. You can’t restore a window that was created on a specific client.

  1. Click Manage Alerts in the side navigation bar.
  2. Click Maintenance Window.
  3. Hover over the gear () icon above the Add Maintenance Windows button. Click Restore maintenance windows.
  4. In the list of deleted windows, find the one(s) you want to restore. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  5. Click Restore.

How to see past and present maintenance windows

There are two tables available. On each table, you can use filters to show only certain details. For more information on filtering, see How to filter data in Auvik.

  • Configured Maintenance Windows shows a list of all windows that have been created, including their current status (Active / Inactive), who set them, and the set schedule.
  • Maintenance History shows a list of all windows that are active or have been completed. The history records that appear are based on the date range selected. By default, you’ll see the last 10 minutes. To see more, click the calendar from the entity navigation bar and select the date range you want.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk