How can we help?

How do I approve, add, edit, or delete networks to be scanned?

Follow

Whether you’re a new or existing Auvik user, each time a new network is discovered we prompt you for approval to scan it. But you can add, delete, or approve networks at any time—you don’t need to wait for the prompts.

If you want, you can filter the list of networks to show only certain networks. For more information on filtering, see How to filter data in Auvik.

How to approve networks for scanning

During discovery, Auvik not only finds all the devices on your network, it also finds all the available networks. All newly discovered networks appear next to an empty checkbox.

  1. Click Discovery in the side navigation bar.
  2. Click the Manage Networks tab.
  3. In the displayed list of networks, find the network(s) you want to start scanning. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  4. Click the Scan button.
  5. Confirm the network for scanning by clicking Scan.

How to stop networks from being scanned

When you stopping a network from being scanned, all devices that belong to that network are removed from the Auvik system.

  1. Click Discovery in the side navigation bar.
  2. Click the Manage Networks tab.
  3. In the displayed list of networks, find the network(s) you want to stop scanning. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  4. Click the Don't Scan button
  5. Confirm the network should no longer be scanned by clicking Don't Scan.

How to add a network you want scanned

  1. Click Discovery in the side navigation bar.
  2. Click the Manage Networks tab.
  3. Click the Add Network button above the networks list.
  4. Enter the subnet
  5. Optional: Check Exclude IP Address Range(s) to exclude devices from scanning on the new subnet. Enter the IP range (e.g 192.168.1.0 - 192.168.1.11) of devices to be excluded from scanning. To have multiple IP ranges excluded, click the + sign to add additional ranges. *
  6. Select the Auvik collector selection type: Automatic or Manual. If you select Manual, choose the primary collector and optionally add standby collectors.
  7. Click Save.

* To exclude a single device, simply enter the IP address of that device.

How to edit a single network

Edits to a network are limited to the network name, routed network management status, device IP address range that should be excluded from scanning, and the Auvik collector selection. If you change the network name from what was originally discovered, you can always change it back by selecting the reset ().

If you remove an excluded IP range when editing a network, we’ll start discovering and managing the devices within that range.

  1. Click Discovery in the side navigation bar.
  2. Click the Manage Networks tab.
  3. In the list of networks, find the one you want to edit. Check the box at the beginning of its row.
  4. Click the Edit button.
  5. Make your edits. To remove an excluded IP range, click the trash can.
  6. Click Save.

How to edit multiple networks

Edits to multiple networks are limited to the management status. If you change the management status from what was originally discovered, you can always change it back by selecting Reset to Default from the dropbox.

  1. Click Discovery in the side navigation bar.
  2. Click the Manage Networks tab.
  3. In the displayed list of networks, find the network(s) you want to manage. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  4. Click the Edit button
  5. Make your edits.
  6. Click Save.

How to delete networks

Similar to stopping a network from being scanned, deleting a network removes all devices that belong to that network from the Auvik system.

  1. Click Discovery in the side navigation bar.
  2. Click the Manage Networks tab.
  3. In the displayed list of networks, find the network(s) you want to delete. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  4. Click the Delete button.
  5. Confirm the cancellation by clicking Delete.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk