How can we help?

How do I add, edit, or delete notification channels?

Follow

Auvik supports adding and editing notification channels for alerts. You can also select how often you want to be notified about a particular alert using Auvik digests. You can choose to have alert notifications emailed immediately or batch your notifications to come every 15 minutes, 1 hour, or 24 hours.

During scheduled maintenance, you can temporarily turn off Auvik alert notifications by adding a maintenance window. The maintenance window must be added from your client’s dashboard.

Notification channels edited from the client’s dashboard are not overwritten by any edits you make from your MSP dashboard.

How to add a new notification channel

Notification channels added from your MSP dashboard are available to all your clients. To add a new channel for a specific client, add the channel from that client’s dashboardFor more information about creating/editing a map overlay notification channel, see How do I see alert notifications on my map?

  1. Click Manage Alerts in the side navigation bar. Click Notification Channels.
  2. Click Add Notification Channel.
  3. Enter a name for the channel. If you choose custom email, enter the email address of the person who should receive it. To have multiple people or distribution lists receive the notification, click the + sign to add the next email address.
  4. Select the appropriate contact method for the notification channel.
    1. All User Emails: Emails everyone who has access to the account.
    2. Custom User: Enter the email address of the person who should receive the notification.
    3. PSA integration, if configured (Autotask, ConnectWise*, Freshdesk, Slack, or webhook)
  5. Click Save

* When creating a new notification channel for a ConnectWise integration from your MSP dashboard, you have the option of selecting a specific service board for the notification channel to apply to.

How to edit a notification channel

Editing a notification channel from your MSP dashboard edits the channel for all clients. To edit a notification channel for a specific client, make the edits from that client’s dashboard.

  1. Click Manage Alerts in the side navigation bar. Click Notification Channels.
  2. In the display list of notification channels, find the channel you want to edit. Check the box at the beginning of its row.
  3. Click the Edit button.
  4. Make any edits you want. For notification channels set to Custom Emails, to have multiple people or distribution lists receive the notification, click the + sign to add the next email address.
  5. Click Save

How to reset notification channels

Only notification channels pre-configured by Auvik or created from the MSP dashboard can be reset. You can’t reset notification channels that were created directly on a client account.

To know which notification channels have been updated, look at the asterisk for each notification channel in the table. A white asterisk () indicates no updates have been made. A grey asterisk () indicates an update has been made. Note: Customizations on a notification channel are limited to the channel name.

  1. Click Manage Alerts in the side navigation bar.
  2. Click Notification Channels.
  3. In the list of notification channels, find the one(s) you want to reset. (The asterisk must be grey.). Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  4. Click the Reset button.
  5. Confirm the reset by clicking Reset.

How to delete notification channels

Deleting a notification channel from your MSP dashboard deletes the channel for all clients. To delete a notification channel for a specific client, delete the channel from that client’s dashboard.

  1. Click Manage Alerts in the side navigation bar. Click Notification Channels.
  2. In the display list of notification channels, find the channel(s) you want to delete. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  3. Click the Delete button.
  4. Confirm the cancellation by clicking Delete.

When you click Delete, the notification channel is removed from all alerts to which it was associated. If it was the only notification channel associated to the alert, the alert is updated to a status of No Notification”

How to restore deleted notification channels

If you’ve deleted a notification channel that was pre-configured by Auvik or created from the MSP dashboard, you can restore it rather than recreating it from scratch. Note that only pre-configured Auvik notification channels or notification channels shared between the MSP and the client can be restored. You can’t restore a notification channel that was created on a specific client.



  1. Click Manage Alerts in the side navigation bar.
  2. Click Notification Channels.
  3. Hover over the gear () icon above the Add Notification Channel button. Click Restore notification channels.
  4. In the list of deleted notification channels, find the one(s) you want to restore. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  5. Click Restore.

How to associate a notification channel to alerts

Associating a notification channel to alerts from your MSP dashboard sets the channel on the alerts for your clients. To associate a notification channel for a specific client, associate the channel from that client’s dashboard.

You can filter the alerts list by name or severity. For more information on filtering, see How to filter data in Auvik.

  1. Click Manage Alerts in the side navigation bar. Click Notification Channels.
  2. In the display list of notification channels, find the channel you want to associate. Check the box at the beginning of its row.
  3. Click Associate with Alerts.
  4. In the displayed list of alerts, find the one(s) you want to associate to the notification channel. Check the box at the beginning of each row.
  5. Click Save.

How to un-associate a notification channel to alerts

Un-associating a notification channel from alerts from your MSP dashboard removes the channel on the alerts for your clients. To un-associate a notification channel for a specific client, un-associate the channel from that client’s dashboard.

You can filter the alerts list by name or severity. For more information on filtering, see How to filter data in Auvik.

  1. Click Manage Alerts in the side navigation bar. Click Notification Channels.
  2. In the display list of notification channels, find the channel you want to associate. Check the box at the beginning of its row.
  3. Click Associate with Alerts.
  4. In the displayed list of alerts, find the one(s) you want to un-associate from the notification channel. Uncheck the box at the beginning of each row.
  5. Click Save.

Additional resources

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk