How can we help?

Configure Auvik for alert notifications to Autotask

Follow

Now that Autotask has been set up for ticket queues, we can put that configuration to use in the Auvik / Autotask integration. 

AutoTask28.png

Alert severity mapping

You can map Auvik alert severities to your Autotask priorities. The priority values that appear for Autotask will match your Autotask configuration. 

  1. Click Integrations from the side navigation bar.
  2. In the displayed list of integrations, click the row for the Autotask integration.
  3. Click the Manage Alerts tab.
  4. Select the appropriate severity mapping for each of the Auvik alert severities.
  5. Click Save.

Alert status mapping

How to add a status mapping

AutoTask29.png

  1. Click the Add Status Mapping button.
  2. Select the ticket queue you want to send Auvik alerts to.
  3. If all new Auvik alerts are to be sent to this queue, check Create new Autotask tickets on this Ticket Queue.
  4. Select the applicable Autotask statuses to be mapped to Auvik.
  5. From the Dismiss Auvik alert when Autotask ticket is multi-select box, select the Autotask status(es) that will dismiss an opened Auvik alert.
  6. From the If Autotask ticket status is multi-select box, select the Autotask status(es) that should be reopened if the Auvik alert has not been cleared in 15 minutes, 1 hour, or 1 day from the alert being triggered.
  7. Select a source to be identified on new tickets.
  8. Click Save

You can add as many ticket queues as you like but you can have only one default board. If you want, you can add a distinct notification channel for each Autotask ticket queue. This is great if you have different boards set up for different work.

If the statuses set for both Dismiss Auvik alert with Autotask ticket is and If Autotask ticket status is are the same, closing the ticket in Autotask dismisses the alert in Auvik. (The If Autotask ticket status is setting is ignored.)

To be sure a Autotask ticket reopens if the Auvik ticket isn’t cleared, the statuses for these two settings should be different.

If you’ve configured your Auvik alert with a clear condition of No Clear Condition - Clear by Dismissing, then the statuses for Dismiss Auvik alert with Autotask ticket is and If Autotask ticket status is must be the same.

Alternatively, the AND the Auvik alert is still active, reopen the ticket in Autotask after time period must be set to Never. 

This ensures the ticket won’t reopen. If the statuses are different, and the status configured for If Autotask ticket status is to close the ticket, the ticket will reopen based on the AND the Auvik alert is still active, reopen the ticket in Autotask after time period, if it’s anything other than Never.

How to edit a status mapping

  1. From the Auvik dashboard, click Integrations from the side navigation bar.
  2. In the displayed list of integrations, click the row for the Autotask integration.
  3. Click the Inventory tab.
  4. Click the Manage Alerts tab.
  5. In the list of alert status mappings, find the one you want to edit. Check the box at the beginning of its row.
  6. Click the Edit button.
  7. Make any edits you want.
  8. Click Save

How to delete a status mapping

You should only delete a board if there are no Auvik alerts associated with it. If there are any Auvik alerts associated with a board you want to delete, we recommend first moving the ticket(s) in Autotask to a board that’s still configured in Auvik. This will ensure the alert(s) can still be updated as needed.

  1. From the Auvik dashboard, click Integrations from the side navigation bar.
  2. In the displayed list of integrations, click the row for the Autotask integration.
  3. Click the Inventory tab.
  4. Click the Manage Alerts tab.
  5. In the list of alert status mappings, find the status mapping(s) you want to delete. Click the box at the beginning of each row.
  6. Click Delete.
  7. Confirm the cancellation by clicking Delete.

How to set a new default ticket queue

Changing the default ticket queue sets the default on any new alerts going forward. The previous default board remains on all existing Auvik alerts and Autotask tickets.

  1. From the Auvik dashboard, click Integrations from the side navigation bar.
  2. In the displayed list of integrations, click the row for the Autotask integration.
  3. Click the Inventory tab.
  4. Click the Manage Alerts tab.
  5. In the list of alert status mappings, find the status mapping you want to set as the default. Check the ticket creation default next to the edit pencil.
  6. Click Default

If new Auvik alerts aren’t opening new Autotask tickets, aren’t clearing tickets, or are dismissing and not reopening tickets, see How do I troubleshoot issues with my Auvik / Autotask integration? for possible resolutions.

Finding integrated alerts

Details for all notifications sent from Auvik to Autotask can be found in two places.

  • Service Desk > Tickets

AutoTask5_new.png

  • When viewing the company record, check Tickets

AutoTask30.png

  • The Tickets tab, when viewing a configuration that’s synced.

AutoTask31.png

If new Auvik alerts aren’t opening new Autotask tickets, aren’t clearing tickets, or are dismissing and not reopening tickets, see How do I troubleshoot issues with my Auvik / Autotask integration? for possible resolutions.

So far, you’ve mapped clients, set up inventory sync, and mapped alerts for your Autotask integration. Now you’re ready to create a notification channel and associate it to the alerts that are synced to Autotask.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk